Posted by: hjelen87 | May 10, 2015

Love is Sacrifice: A Mother’s Day Post

IMG_20150429_193045023

People often think of love as a warm fuzzy feeling you get when you are around someone. However, Jesus came to earth to show us what love really is, and the Bible never speaks of how Jesus felt toward anyone. It never tells us that Jesus felt loving feelings toward us, so we should love those who make us feel good.

No, the Bible tells us “how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters.” (1 John 3:16) Jesus showed His love for us through sacrifice. It’s not a romantic notion, that love is sacrifice. The dictionary defines sacrifice like this: “to surrender or give up, or permit injury or disadvantage to, for the sake of something else.” We speak of “falling in love,” as if it is something that just happens. But love requires work. Love involves giving something up for the sake of someone else.

Nothing has taught me more about how love is sacrifice than being a mother. My son is just over 2 months old and I have already sacrificed a lot so that he is well taken care of. During pregnancy, I sacrificed my body for 7 and a half months so that he could have a safe place to grow until he was ready to come out. I sacrificed the comfort of my own bed and home for 2 weeks while on bed-rest in the hospital, to keep him from getting an infection. I have sacrificed my sleep since the moment he was born, so that I help to can keep him clean, fed, and happy. I continue to sacrifice my body so that I can provide him with the nutrition of breastmilk. And I’ve sacrificed my running, which has always been such a large part of who I am.

I say these things not to let you know how great I am for sacrificing so much, or how difficult it is to be a mother. I say them because every day that I sacrifice something for my son, I learn more about what love really is. Even in those early hours of the morning, when I am frustrated because all I want to do is sleep, but my son needs me, I am loving him like Christ loved us by waking up and taking care of him.

Before I was a mother myself, I never realized how much my own mom has demonstrated Christ’s love for us in all her sacrifices throughout the years. Motherhood is wonderful, and it brings a lot of joy, but it is through giving things up for the sake of our children that we really demonstrate God’s love. So thank you, Mom, for showing me how to love like Jesus. I only hope to be able to do the same for my son.

Leave a Reply

Categories

