Posted by: hjelen87 | March 10, 2012

Fortunately, Unfortunately

Airplane

Fortunately, Unfortunately: My Journey to California

Fortunately, I had a weeklong spring break.

Unfortunately, it costs money to travel places.

Fortunately, I had frequent flyer miles and a friend who lives in California who I could stay with.

Unfortunately, I had to fly out of Dulles, and none of my roommates could take me.

Fortunately, there is a metrobus that goes to Dulles.

Unfortunately, it was super crowded and took a long time to get there.

Fortunately, we made it to the airport on time.

Unfortunately, there were tornadoes in Cincinnati, where I was connecting through.

Fortunately, they said the tornadoes wouldn’t affect our flight.

Unfortunately, the flight was delayed, for reasons other than the tornadoes.

Fortunately, we made it safely to Cincinnati.

Unfortunately, I missed my connecting flight to LA.

Fortunately, they said they would put me on another flight to LA.

Unfortunately, I had to wait in an insanely long line to book another flight.

Fortunately, I met some nice people in line.

Unfortunately, the flight that they originally booked me on wouldn’t get to LA until 7:30pm the next day.

Fortunately, the attendant found another earlier flight for me.

Unfortunately, that flight was already booked by the time he tried to get tickets for me.

Fortunately, one of the people who I’d met in line was also going to LA and his attendant had found a flight through another airline.

Unfortunately, it still didn’t leave until the next morning.

Fortunately, the airline paid for me to stay at a hotel that night.

Unfortunately, it would take a really long time to get my checked bag that night, and I would only have about 4 hours of sleep as it was.

Fortunately, they said they would switch the bag to my new flight.

Unfortunately, I barely got any sleep that night because I got to the hotel late and my flight left at 6am the next morning.

Fortunately, the beds were comfortable.

Unfortunately, when I went to check in the next morning, they couldn’t find a ticket for me.

Fortunately, they finally found me a ticket.

Unfortunately, I had to fly to Dallas first and then connect to LA.

Fortunately, I made my connecting flight to LA that time.

Unfortunately, my phone inexplicably died during the flight.

Fortunately, I had my charger with me, and that worked.

Unfortunately, my baggage was not in the baggage claim area with the rest of my flight.

Fortunately, my bag was at LAX at 9:45am.

Unfortunately, when I talked to the airline attendant and she checked on my bag, she said it wasn’t there and wouldn’t arrive until 7:30pm.

Fortunately, when we got to my friend’s apartment, we discovered that my bag was already in LA.

Unfortunately, my friend lives a ways from LAX and we didn’t want to drive back to get it.

Fortunately, they were able to deliver my bag to me that night.

And that is the story of my journey to California.  And fortunately, the rest of the trip went much more smoothly!

[Based on the children’s book Fortunately by Remy Charlip]

Responses

  1. All those years of reading books to my children really paid off!!!
    Love, Mom

  2. Fortunately, you lived to tell the story! Hope you had fun once you were there! 🙂

  3. I like this – very funny and clever 🙂 Hope you had a great trip – fortunately, LA is awesome!


Leave a Reply

Categories

