Posted by: hjelen87 | August 17, 2010

One Step at a Time

Hey all!  So my last post was more about my feelings about everything, but I didn’t really give you any details about what I’ve been doing here, so that is my mission today.

Last Friday, my mom, my aunt Melissa, and I set off from Sioux Falls for DC.  It was about a 24 hour drive and we went straight through the night.  We made it here (not quite without incident, but safely) around noon on Saturday.  Saturday was consumed with moving all my stuff into The Aston, which is the apartment building that I am living in.  The rooms are really nice-they are studios, with a kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom/living room combo.  So far the only problems have been a jammed dishwasher and touchy smoke/fire alarms that go off frequently (at least they work!).

Sunday we went to church and then to Eastern Market, which is a farmer’s market/flee market.  Monday through Wednesday were spent running errands and exploring the area around my apartment.  It’s a great neighborhood-only about a half mile from some great running trails along the Potomac, and close to a metro stop.  We took a boat tour of the city and saw the monuments and night, which was really pretty.

Early Thursday morning we took the Megabus up to New York City.  We saw all the sights-the Statue of Liberty, Empire State Building, Central Park, and Times Square.  It was a lot of fun.  NYC is great to visit, but it’s a little too crowded for me.  Once we got back to DC (at about 3am), it felt like I could breathe again.  DC is a good sized city for me.

Mom and Melissa left on Saturday morning, and I spent the rest of the weekend meeting people from my building, going to church, and getting ready for the crazy week of orientation coming up.

Today was the first day of orientation for me.  Today and tomorrow are Public Interest Orientation, for people who are interested in public interest law.  Today we got to go to the DC Superior Courts and watch some trials, which was really interesting.  We got to see a murder case pre-trial, where they brought out the defendants in orange jump-suits and chains.  It was really cool to see the legal system up-close.  I also got to meet a lot of new people who I will be going to school with, so that was nice.  Everyone I’ve met here has been really cool.  Everyone is fascinated by the fact that I’m from South Dakota because I am the first person from South Dakota that most of these people have ever met.  Tomorrow we are going to a public high school in DC and painting and stuff.  Then on Wednesday the full law school orientation starts.  I am getting kind of excited about it all.

Responses

  1. cool, heather! this sounds awesome. give me a call this weekend or we should skype! glad you’re there safely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

