Posted by: hjelen87 | August 14, 2010

Nobody said it was easy; it’s such a shame for us to part…

As I was getting prepared to move to DC and go to law school, I was getting advice from everyone I could.  There were the people that have moved in the past year or two, who all told me how hard it was for them for the first six months or so- trying to form new friendships, missing their friends “back home”.  Then there were the people who had gone to law school, who all said that law school was really tough, and the first year was the hardest.

And before I left, people kept asking me if I was excited.  Well, let me just say-it’s a little hard to be very excited when everyone is telling you how difficult the next 6-9 months are going to be.  But, that’s not entirely true.  All of those people said that amidst the toughness of moving and law school, there were a lot of good things that happened-they learned more about themselves, met lifelong friends, grew closer to God, etc.  But I guess maybe it’s not a terrible thing to be prepared for the bad stuff because then when the good things come, it will be a pleasant surprise.  I also have to remember that old cliché-it’s the journey, not the destination…or as Miley Cyrus would say, it’s the climb.  Because all those good things (basically relationships with God and people, and self-discovery)-they don’t come overnight.

And there is one more piece of advice that I’ve found helpful-that law school isn’t something you can fully prepare for, so you just have to take it as it comes-a day, hour, or moment at a time.  So bring it on…

“Be strong and courageous.  Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” –Joshua 1:9

Responses

  1. Thanks for the new post Heather! I’m really enjoying the blog so far! I wish that I could get myself to update ours more.

  2. Thanks Jarv! And yes, you should update yours! And we should Skype sometime soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

